Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Drove the GTO today....first time in 15 years!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drove the GTO today....first time in 15 years!

Wow! What a day!

Yesterday (father's day) I bought a new set of BF Goodrich T/A radials for the GTO. I've been pecking away at the car for 7 months now. Rebuilt everything, the engine, the transmission, the brakes the wheels. Started October last year. Everything has been rebuilt.

Drove it today for the first time in 15 years. This is a 1967 GTO that I bought new. Ordered it from the factory in July 1966 and took delivery at Meadow's Pontiac in Portland in November 1966. Hardtop. 4 speed. Ralley wheels. Instruments, tinted glass, console. Limited slip differential. Fast ratio manual steering. 360 HP 400 cu in.

I had lots of mechanical and electrical glitches. But I finally got it to run pretty well and drove it about 15 miles without the hood. Brakes pull a bit to the left and the Hayes street and strip clutch is rougher than a cob. Everyone I passed gave me the thumbs up!

It drives...noiser than hell and has it got go power!!!!
    Drove it down to the Cape Thursday. Really interesting to drive again.
    2nd gear is awsome!

I've been laughing all afternoon!

McSkagit
    Attached Files
    Captain Tim (McSkagit) Jones 1959 Skagit 31 Saratogan

http://www.closeencountersecotours.com

Pay it forward.......take a kid for a boat ride

:cool1:

Comment

Thats when cars were cars! My suburbans' down for a leaking intake manifold so I had to fire up my '68 Nova. The kids love it.

Looking forward to the pics.
      '59 Clippercraft, 35 hp Evinrude

Comment

Originally posted by McSkagit Tim Jones, post: 11790
        Wow! What a day!