Rosario update

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rosario update

Not sure why I think there are a lot of members interested in what is happening with Rosario but I'm just a writer at heart and who would read my blogs if I did know how to blog?
    Anyway, the good news is I seem to have the fuel problem fixed with a lot of help from some of you out there. I moved the squeeze bulbs up to the tanks instead of back by the motor. That took good care of one tank but the other didn't squeeze up good and would get enough gas to start the motor and then the fuel pump drew the fuel through and it worked fine. When I docked, and went to get the trailer, the squeeze bulb sucked flat and the motor would start but, as soon as I put it in gear would die. Took the cap off the tank and the bulb would pump up fine. So, I switched the cap from another working tank and that took care of the problem. Seems like the vent must be plugged although that leaves me with the question of why I can run on that tank for a half hour or longer at 3/4 throttle with no problem. Anyway, both tanks now squeeze up fine and motor starts right up as it did when I got it from Chuck C.
    Our docks get pulled tomorrow (if there isn't too much wind) so Becky and I cleaned up Rosario and put her to bed for winter. She now has almost full tanks treated with fuel life extender and I ran motor on each tank for 5 minutes to make sure all the untreated gas is out of lines. Drained lower unit. Not so good. A fair amount of saltwater in there. No visible cracks from when I bounced over the rocks so I'm guessing it is time for new washers (gaskets?) at filler and drain holes.
    Boat washed and waxed and covered for winter with one of those heater/dehumidifiers in the cabin.
    See you in the spring Rosario. Next summer, lots of good trips planned!
    There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness.":shocked4:

1957 Skagit Express Cruiser Rosario

Jerry,