New member introduction

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member introduction

Hi everyone, I wanted to do a formal introduction as I hope to eventually join the club and be a participating member of this forum. My wife and I recently moved back to the Seattle area after being away for about 17 yrs. I am a UW grad and she grew up in Kent until we moved away. We have settled back into Kent again and have enjoyed being back in the NW (thou the rain has been tough to get used to again).

I have grown up around boats but those were either flat bottom ski boats with large motors or larger cabin cruises. We have been wanting a boat for a number of years, (was looking at vintage chris crafts runabouts to go with my 48 Woodie but just never found the extra cash to do it or the time was wrong when we did have it, but since moving back I started looking at smaller classic fiberglass boats as we now live on a small lake.

As much as I am new to this site, I am as new to being a boat owner. Last weeking we took the plunge and bought a 14 ft 1959 Reinell (model ?) with a Johnson Super Seahorse 35 (year unknown) sitting on a newer trailer (the original 1958 trailer was rusted so bad the previous owner removed the fender pods (like Tee Nee) and rims and scrapped the rest. I plan to paint the trailer and install the fender pods and solid steel rims to give it a more classic look

The boat is in good condition but has had a few small holes (looks like might have had folding top) that have been filled. The electric start is not working (the starter spins but does not seem to spin fast enough) so I am not sure what to do but need to find someone that knows these early motors. It starts pretty easy with the pull start but I need to get it fixed and tuned. any recommendations on who is good at working on these please let me know.