Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help... Fair Price for a "fair" (not turnkey) Bell Boy?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help... Fair Price for a "fair" (not turnkey) Bell Boy?

Hi All,

Today we went to look at a Bell Boy 1957 14" runabout. The motor is 1969 25 HP Evinrude. The trailer is a 1959 MONO (that is off of the title, could not find any identification near the tongue).

The owner is a very sincere and agreeable individual but does not consider himself a "boatsman" to use his terms. He seems open to discuss our mechanics findings before we settle on a price. We are TOTAL novices, attempting to purchase our first classic boat. I have diligently attempted internet research, but now that I have seen the boat in person still don't feel like I have a good grip on what I am looking at.

The overall condition of the boat (minus motor) is okay. Not fair, but not great. Hull is strong, no major defects. Transom good. Looks like one of the previous owners made some modifications on seating, and to the floor (to make it flat) and attempted to repaint the inside and the trailer. The modifications look....okay, but not professional. The metal hardware is very pitted from salt. So, aesthetics, okay, not great.

The motor appears to be problematic. We are waiting for a diagnosis and estimate but it is showing signs of a possible drive shaft problem, stalls out, slips out of gear, etc, etc. The battery may need to be replaced or charged the night before using (?) Gear box, levers and cables are all useable. Line that connects gas tank to engine is bad, needs to be replaced. Possible choke issues, still TBD. The veteran vinatge motor mechanic we are using did not seem encouraged by the initial "examination".

The paint job on the trailer is peeling, rust is popping up through (several) previous paint jobs. Bearings are okay for now (according to mechanic).