1960's Sears Elgin 14 Runabout Restoration

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1960's Sears Elgin 14 Runabout Restoration

I have a 14 foot Elgin runabout that I'm restoring. I can't find the year, because the plate seems to be missing. My 28HP McCullough motor says SEARS across it, but the boat has the remains of an Elgin logo on the side. It says SEARS on the dash. Any way to find the year?
    I most likely will sell the motor for parts, it is locked up at the prop, and a real mess otherwise, and I have little knowledge of boats, so I will try to find a suitable replacement on Craigslist or locally.
    I got the boat in very rough condition, at an estate auction, but I plan on restoring it enough to get out on the water.
    I have a long way to go, but hopefully it will work out in the end. The trailer needs bearings, wheels and tires, lights, paint, a new hitch, and a new winch.
    The boat needs a windshield, motor, steering wheel, seats redone, refinished paint, a drain plug, rewiring, and general TLC.
    Fiberglass looks good for the most part, except for a little rot on the top of a stringer, a small hole on the air pocket flotation, (which I plan on filling with foam), and a couple nicks and scratches.
    Maybe when that's all done I'll add a radio!

I'll add photos soon, but here's a photobucket link.
    http://s1368.photobucket.com/user/vo...bile%20Uploads

I found an ad for this 1962 Elgin. I think mine is a later model, but I'm not sure.
    Attached Files

Hi Dylan and welcome to the group.
    Unless I can see a better picture of your hull, I will have to say that they used several different manufactures. I also had a Elgin, also seen the Elgin motor (it was a McCullough) that was on it.
    I ended up with too many boats and this one, I lost track of in Sandy Oregon.